priorities

Last night I was driving home with the full moon watching over me. Its gaze was soft and the clouds cleared around it as I drove, so that I could see it clearly.

The night sky is very mysterious. Something about its vastness, and my tininess by comparison, often draws my ear closer to the whisper of God’s voice and sometimes, I hear him speak.

Last night as I thought of a thousand circumstances from my life and the lives of those around me, of sadness and sickness and hope and doubt and joy and pain and love, I heard him say, “My priorities are not your priorities.”

I don’t know about you, but for me there is a constant, nagging voice telling me what I want from life. It taunts me when my desires seem just beyond my reach or when life presents complications in the process of getting from point A to point B. It tells me “you’re wasting your time” or “you aren’t ____ enough” (fill in the blank with any number of items). It tells me to forge ahead in my own strength, to vie for control of every situation, to manipulate to make things happen. Or it tells me to give up, walk away, have done with pursuing any goals.

What if this whole back-and-forth struggle is a mere distraction? What if I am missing the point?

Maybe I am. God’s priority is always, always to restore people to right relationship with him and to each other. That’s the plan. Anything that twists or distracts from those priorities is a bunny-trail, not always bad in itself, but something that can keep me from the main point.

I belong to him and he delights in me. If I could fully absorb those facts, I think every insecurity and anxiety would disappear.

There is so much I don’t understand, and never will until I am face-to-face with God.

One Response

  1. “My priorities are not your priorities” is a hard one to swallow. But I’m thankful for the constant perspective shift that God gives to me — to us. Thanks for writing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

