gratefulness and real life

It seems automatically human to pine over the things we do not have instead of giving thanks for what we do enjoy. At least, it is that way for me. Scripture talks plenty of giving thanks, of being content in whatever state I find myself, and of “rejoicing always”…always is a sweeping term (I Thes. 4:16).

The past year felt like a roller coaster ride in many ways. Hopes rose and fell in many areas of my life. Now, life still feels uncertain as I peer curiously (as always) at the future. Anything could change at any moment. Isn’t that the way it always is, though? Jobs, relationships, friendships are all precarious. People move away, situations change, new opportunities come along, old ones disappear. It never works to depend with much confidence on the circumstances of life in this transient world. At the same time, I must invest – earnestly – in the work I have to do and, more importantly, in the people around me. I want to invest the way Jesus did: the kind of investment in others that involves death to self and results in strengthened relationships and ultimately, mysteriously, contentment. I want to really love people. I want to really love my work. I want to really live.

Leave a Reply

