costumes, photos, and memories

Teri, Rachel, and I on Caesar salad hot lunch day. Hail Caesar.

Teri, Rachel, and me on Caesar salad hot lunch day. Hail Caesar.

Recently, I had a conversation with some friends about dressing up in costumes. We pretty much agreed that dressing up is fun, and that we miss doing it. I couldn’t help remembering the opportunities I had to dress in various costumes for different events when I worked at BFA. Tonight, I started browsing through old photos on Facebook. I only skimmed through the second year, but came up with a plethora of photos – and memories.

Wittlingen dorm's Famous Couples Night 2008. I'm on the far right; yes, Lucy from Peanuts.

Wittlingen dorm's Famous Couples Night 2008. I'm on the far right; yes, Lucy from Peanuts.

Looking through just some of the photos on Facebook makes me remember how many more there are on CDs and stored in my computer. Lately I’ve been thinking that I want to make something – a scrapbook or two, I guess, although I am not the scrapbooking type – to tangibly document my memories. Having thousands of files on CDs does not seem thoughtful enough. It’s almost metaphorical (isn’t everything?): instead of processing my memories, choosing the best snapshots to include in a project that I can share with others, I burned all my memories onto discs and shoved them away in my closet. And tried to get on with my life. It worked, to some degree, but now I realize there are still experiences left unprocessed because of the sheer speed of life at the dorm. When I wasn’t having a conversation, shopping, traveling, cooking, or doing laundry, I was sleeping. That didn’t leave a lot of time to think, to reflect, to process.

Freshman-sophomore weekend 2007. We dressed funky and went to Lörrach to take interesting photos like this one. This is one of my favorite memories. We had a lot of fun that day.

Freshman-sophomore weekend 2007. We dressed funky and went to Lörrach to take interesting photos like this one. This is one of my favorite memories. We had a lot of fun that day.

So I will start sorting my photos, and keep thinking about what sort of album I want to make. It will be fun to relive some of these memories!

terime

Teri and me, same day in Lörrach.

Teri, me, and Rachel at the beginning of my (and Rachel's) second year.

Teri, me, and Rachel at the beginning of my (and Rachel's) second year.

3 Responses

  1. These pictures are a lot of fun to look at. It looks like you girls had a lot of fun making them too!

    I’m with you about scrapbooking. My mother-in-law is way into it and I tried a while back to see if it was something that I wanted to do. After several attempts I realized that it wasn’t.

    I think that it always seemed like too expensive of a hobby. Now I just stick pictures in an album and that’s that!

  2. I should add that Missy (my Mother-in Law) is really great at it. She could do it professionally.

  3. Yeah, I am not very visually creative so when I’ve tried scrapbooking in the past, I haven’t been very satisfied with the results. Plus, it takes a long time (perhaps because I kept changing pages around because I wasn’t satisfied). Plus, it’s expensive, as you say. The end results can be beautiful, though, especially by those who are gifted at it!

    Hmm, I’m thinking an album is more my speed. I might go for one of those that has a place to write captions underneath. That would be perfect.

    Now I know what to buy next time I go shopping. 🙂

Leave a Reply

