this is my brain on germs

I hate how sickness makes me so blah and unmotivated. One would think – or at least hope – that the disruption of my brain would make me more creative. Maybe if I had a fever, I would be. Past experience implies otherwise, though; when I have a fever, I am knocked flat for several days and feel as if I’ve been run over by a slow-moving tram. (No, I don’t know how it feels to be run over by a slow-moving tram, but I have a keen imagination.) Creative productivity, in that state, would be at a standstill. At least right now I can sit up and type, although my eyelids keep drooping.

Actually, I felt better today than I did yesterday, on the whole. When I woke up this morning, I wasn’t sure I could make it to work, but once I started moving, I felt better. The day went smoothly, my students accomplished a fair amount, and I was satisfied. Now I’m resting, thinking, and procrastinating…I have a lot more work to do on a project, and it would be infinitely better for me to do it now instead of waiting until the last minute, but unfortunately, procrastination is my lifelong enemy.

What happens to my brain function when I get sick? This time I started out with a bizarre dream, and the fun continues with general mental fuzziness. I had trouble reading aloud today (not because of the sore throat, which wasn’t hurting much anymore at the time); the words kept getting stuck in my mouth, and I replaced some words with others that weren’t there. Strange.

There are a few things I dislike about being sick – besides the headaches, constant sneezing, sinus drainage (eww!), and general malaise (I just love that phrase). There are some things I like about mild sickness, though. Here they are:

1. No stress. I just don’t have the energy to think about things, much less over-think them.

2. Drinking hot tea. With honey, yes.

3. Watching movies. Stress and guilt-free, without thinking of the things I could or should be doing instead…see No. 1.

4. Sometimes sickness-induced dreams and thoughts are very interesting, or at least amusing.

5. Mom’s chicken soup.

I could possibly think of more, but five is a nice, round, odd number. I hope you are well, but if you are not, may you find some comforts in your general malaise (sorry, I couldn’t resist using it again).

2 Responses

  1. I love this post Jessica. It is perfect. I especially enjoyed your reference of being rolled over by a slow-moving tram. I hope that you feel better as soon as possible. 🙂

  2. Thanks, Pamela! 🙂

Leave a Reply

