to-do lists

I’m a list-maker. It’s the only thing that keeps me on track to accomplish tasks that must be done. Without a to-do list, tasks float nebulously above my head in a cloud, never getting accomplished because I don’t remember they’re there. When I grab them from the air, one by one, and pin them down on paper (or should I say pen them on paper? Pun alert!), I have means to remember and accomplish them.

But I have this problem with making lists. My lists are too long. I start a list that says “Saturday — To Do” and proceed to add fifteen items beneath the title. There is no way I can accomplish everything I tell myself I must do on a given day. So, at the end of the day, I shake my head and feel like a guilty procrastinator. Granted, sometimes I am a procrastinator…Okay, often I am. But the point remains that I set unreachable goals with my elaborate to-do lists, and then I hang my head in a persistent state of failure because I can’t fulfill the lists’ requirements.

The solution? I suppose it’s to make more feasible lists. This can be my project next week. I’ll put it on my to-do list: “Monday: Make to-do list with achievable goals.”

2 Responses

  1. I am a procrastinator too! I still haven’t done my homework. I haven’t read your blog enough. I’ll red it more often 🙂

  2. So that’s why you wrote such a convincing essay on the topic of procrastination! 😉 Well, you’re lucky that your homework doesn’t have to be done until Thursday this week. See you then!

Leave a Reply

