cold snap

The weather is turning colder. I can feel the nip in the air, even at mid-day when the sun is shining brightly. More, I can feel the chill wind in the morning when I leave for work. Today I pulled out beloved SmartWool socks and wore covered-toe shoes for the first time since the spring.

Quite honestly, I dislike most aspects of cold weather. My feet seem to lose all circulation during the winter months. I go through tubes of chap stick like they are lollipops and I am a kid with an unlimited supply. (That metaphor breaks down, though, because I don’t lick chap stick.) My skin gets dry, my tan fades, I have to wear heavy clothes, my Chacos get shoved in the closet for months on end, my nose is always cold…yeah, many things about winter make me sad.

However, there are positives. To combat my internal blip of sadness about the cold weather, I decided to make a list of elements I do appreciate about it. Here we go, in no particular order.

1. Steaming mugs of apple cider.
2. Cute sweaters.
3. The brilliant blue sky of autumn.
4. Cozy, crackling bonfires, campfires, and wood-burning stoves. Oh, and s’mores.
5. Pumpkin anything. Pumpkin carving, pumpkin muffins with cream cheese icing, pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin pies, pumpkin-chocolate-chip cookies, pumpkin spice candles, and the list could continue.
6. Well-worn, favorite pairs of jeans.
7. Fuzzy blankets.
8. Flannel sheets.
9. Soft scarves.
10. Fall foods like apple pie, ginger snaps, and anything else that sends fragrant, spicy aromas out from the oven.

Yes, autumn is here. I will bid summer a reluctant farewell and embrace the new season…even if it means having cold feet and a cold nose.

4 Responses

  1. Oooh I like your list Jessica. The apple cider, pumpkin muffins with cream-cheese icing, candles, jeans, scarves, and everything else that you mentioned sounds wonderful!

  2. i like fall.. agree with: “My skin gets dry, my nose is always cold” and ” Fuzzy blankets, Soft scarves”. i adore scarves!! so “natural hasn’t bad weather!”

  3. Ahhhh, bonfires and steaming mugs of just about anything: coffee, tea, chai, milk, cider, drinking chocolate, mulled wine….

  4. Mulled wine! I miss glühwein, even though I preferred the way it smelled to the way it tasted. I wonder if I could find a way to make it here.

Leave a Reply

