deciphering me

I’m a fan of Brooke Fraser. She is originally from New Zealand, and not only does she have a beautiful accent, she writes lyrics that are like poetry. Here’s one of my favorites, “Deciphering Me.” I love it…and not only because it gives me flashbacks of Wittlingen.

Friend, it’s getting late
We should be going
We’ve been sat here beneath these flickering neons for hours
While I am cracking their code, you are deciphering me
For I am a mystery; I am a locked room in a tall tower

Oh, can you feel the gravity falling, calling us home?
Oh, did you see the stars colliding, shining just to show we belong?

Your telescope eyes see everything clearly
My vision is blurred but I know what I heard echoing all around
While I am tuning you in, you are deciphering me
Not such a mystery, not such a faint and far away sound

Oh, can you feel the gravity falling, calling us home?
Oh, did you see the stars colliding, shining just to show we belong?

It’s love, it’s love that holds us
We will be all right
It’s truth, it’s truth that shows us
If we’ll walk in its light

One Response

  1. Yay! I can’t exactly say I’m a fan since I haven’t heard too much of her music (and have been known to get her mixed up with a singer I don’t like), but I was introduced to her music in NZ (a cousin wanted her CD with the Narnia Song); and a friend here gave me that same CD out of the blue a few months ago. You’re welcome to borrow it if you don’t have it already.

Leave a Reply

