new places and spaces

Hello from my new house.

I moved this week to a cute, 1950s-era, petite 2-bedroom house where I took up residence with my friend Eva. So far I am enjoying my own space + a roommate, and I feel like this is precisely the situation God has for me to grow in during this life season. I’m happy and excited, and still a little stressed, because having my life change – even if the changes are good, and long-desired – has a disordering effect on me for a period of time. Soon enough, I will settle, and I expect to be very content.

There are many other events taking place in my life; thus, I have not blogged lately even though my thoughts have not been scarce. Soon, I hope to be back in the habit of sharing some of them here. Don’t go away yet.

Autumn is gorgeous. Absolutely. Today I am traveling the hour-long distance to my grandparents’ mountain cabin for a retreat. Around fifteen young adults from my church will be there, and I’m sure we’ll have a fun time.

Last night, I had a vivid dream that I cannot adequately describe. My roomie asked me about it while we were walking this morning and I could only answer that it seemed a dream with deep meaning. I am still processing it, but now, as I listen to Brooke Fraser’s “C.S. Lewis Song,” I think my dream was a direct reflection of Lewis’s thoughts, which Fraser puts to song.

If I find in myself desires nothing in this world can satisfy,
I can only conclude that I was not made for here
If the flesh that I fight is at best only light and momentary,
Then of course I’ll feel nude when to where I’m destined I’m compared

[CHORUS]
Speak to me in the light of the dawn
Mercy comes with the morning
I will sigh and with all creation groan as I wait for hope to come for me

Am I lost or just less found? On the straight or on the roundabout of the wrong way?
Is this a soul that stirs in me, is it breaking free, wanting to come alive?
‘Cause my comfort would prefer for me to be numb
And avoid the impending birth of who I was born to become

[BRIDGE]
For we, we are not long here
Our time is but a breath, so we better breathe it
And I, I was made to live, I was made to love, I was made to know you
Hope is coming for me
Hope, He’s coming

Until later, I will keep thinking, living, and waiting. God is present.

One Response

  1. Wow, these lyrics are very poignant. I would like to hear more about your dream sometime.

Leave a Reply

