Christmas lights

As I walked in my neighborhood today, I glanced at various windows to see the soft lights of Christmas bulbs shining from their trees. At one house, a single candle lit each pane.

I began to think about the traditions of Christmas, and of how pleasant it is to have twinkly lights, delectable desserts, and good-smelling trees at this dreary time of year. The coziness of indoors, with spicy candles and sugar cookies and a lit tree, effectively combats the stark, leafless trees and browning grass outside.

2 Responses

  1. I am in complete agreement. Did you and Eva decorate your little tree yet?

  2. We did, with your candy canes. 🙂 I was sorely tempted to buy some twinkly lights when I was shopping yesterday, and might succumb today if I shop again.

Leave a Reply

