time for anxiety?

If I am blessed with a long life, I am pretty sure that when I come to the end of it I will not think, “Man, I wish I’d spent more time worrying!” I have a feeling that I won’t remember an instance and think, “If only I’d held back in fear instead of moving forward.” I won’t shake my head and say, “If I could go back in time, I’d spend more time stressing over that decision before making it.”

I’m pretty sure my thoughts will be quite different. I’m pretty sure I will look back on the life I’ve already lived, and the time I have already wasted in anxiety, lack of faith, lack of vision, and laziness, and wish that I could have the time back. To live over again with joy, with vision, with the right focus.

Everything exposed by the light is made clear, for what makes everything clear is light. Therefore it is said: Get up, sleeper, and rise up from the dead, and the Messiah will shine on you. Pay careful attention, then, to how you walk–not as unwise people but as wise–making the most of the time, because the days are evil. (Ephesians 5:13-16)

It is heartening to serve a God of redemption. He doesn’t look at how I’ve used my time, so far, and raise his eyebrows and shake his head. He always redeems me, forgives and forgets, and empowers me to move forward in joy and grace. The opportunity is there; an open door. When I walk through it, He changes my perspective.

One Response

  1. Good thoughts there! and good reminders to each and everyone one of us to make each moment of each day count!

Leave a Reply

