welcome, spring

So says the chalkboard in our kitchen. We hoped that greeting the new season would help to usher in warmer weather, and it seems to have worked. Yesterday was a chilly exception, but today the birds are singing and the sunshine is coming through my windows.

Spring usually creates anticipation. It fills me with a sense of awe. As the years pass, I lose some of the childlike wonder that spring used to incite. I want to cling to it this year; to the anticipation and the awe. I don’t know what I am anticipating. Sometimes life’s disappointments make me afraid to feel anticipatory lest my hopes be false. But if I stop hoping, I stop living. I love that right now, all I have to do is look around me to see promises of new life, new hope. Yellow daffodils poking their heads through the dirt. Round buds on tree branches, getting ready to burst into life. Shoots of grass coming up green, outshining the brown remains of last year’s grass. The message of hope is all around me.

So I say: welcome, spring.

One Response

  1. I feel the same way! Sometimes it’s easy to let life get the best of you; to give up on the joys and wonders because we know it may not come to pass. But God says “for a lack of vision, my people perish”. Without vision, without hope; we are nothing if not dead. Let us be reminded then to find pleasure in the little moments knowing that one promise remains no matter what hopes fade: Jesus will return and take us from this place. Thanks for sharing! I love reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

