anticipation

Right now, I’m filled with anticipation.

I don’t know exactly what God is doing, but it is clear to me that He is at work – and, indeed, that He has been at work – in my life on a number of levels. Once again, I have a few glimpses of the wider vision and somehow it also looks narrower. I’ve been thinking a lot about now and the importance of living today fully instead of being caught in the details of yesterday and tomorrow. It’s a great theme to adopt and re-adopt. It means I release control and realize I never had control. My life is mine and my will is free, yet both belong to God because I chose that path. Because I believed that He knows better than I do.

And I do believe it. I do. I don’t understand, but I believe.

And I’m excited. Tomorrow, I am traveling to attend the Festival of Faith and Writing in Grand Rapids, Michigan. I’m thrilled to attend an event like this; to take an active step to pursue a dream I’ve had for years. I still want to write. It is still part of who I am, and I do it on a daily or semi-daily basis, even if it’s “just” a few pages in my personal journal. It excites me to envision a community of people who also love words, and who are gathering to celebrate art as an expression of faith.

I’m also ecstatic about seeing friends from Germany there. This will be a happy reunion.

Life is good, and it is beautiful. Those two things: truths I have struggled at times to believe, even lately, but right now I have the gift of faith to believe them, and believe them well.

The key word is “now.” I want to stay here, in the “now.” I will take it with me as I venture into the future.

One Response

  1. Hi Jessica,
    Just wanted to let you know about “Hope Chest Revived”! http://pursuebeauty.blogspot.com/
    Maybe you’d be interested in subscribing once the magazine is up and running or perhaps contributing?
    Just though I’d let you know 😉
    Have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

