a blogging metanarrative

Sometimes I want to blog but I can’t think of anything to say.

Maybe I put too much pressure on myself. Not every post needs to be profound, right? I tend to journal profusely, but other people don’t want to read all of that. Nor do I want them to read it. Deciding on the tone of blog posts is sticky business. Conversational? Pithy? Intellectual? Casual? Serious? Humorous? (At least, to those who share my unusual sense of humor.)

Most of the time, I don’t think too hard about it. In many ways, blogging is wonderfully non-intimidating. You just type, proofread, and publish. Yes, publish! That evasive verb that refuses to be pinned down by most fledgling writers. Here in the 21st century, I can be a virtually unknown writer and still be published. That could be viewed as a pathetic statement worthy of mourning, but I think it is a freedom to celebrate. Perhaps no one will read, but I can write. That’s always been true. Now, perhaps no one will read, but I can write…and publish. There’s the beauty.

The rebel in me says, “Ha! Take that, publishing companies and cold, unwelcoming markets. Your condescending shakes of the head can silence me no more. I will write, and I will publish, whether you like it or not!”

The cynic in me replies, “Yeah, but can you write well? Does anyone care? Does anyone read? Have you noticed that everyone and her grandmother has a blog these days?”

My internal realist/optimist says to the other two: “True, true, it’s all true. Both of you are right, but you’ve missed the point. Write because you want to write. Publish because you want to share what you write. Your tone will evolve as you let loose your ideas. Stop over-analyzing and start writing.”

One Response

  1. I’m with you on all that! I love that with blogging you don’t have to worry about whether someone thinks it’s “good enough.” Although I still find that hypothetical publisher standing over my shoulder sometimes because having a blog out there gives me a chance of being “discovered.” But if I take blogging for the non-pressure type thing it really is, I think my writing would be better! Like you said, “Stop analyzing. Start writing.” Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

