now

I’ve been thinking what a good thing it is to pursue what I love, and to live life as it comes; as it is, and not as I imagine it could be. It is good to have goals and to move toward them, but it is equally important to seek contentment where I am. Every day – every moment – I have a choice to make. I can savor it, enjoy it, relax into it and pluck every thread of memory from it. Or I can lose the present because I am consumed either by thoughts of the past or surmises about the future.

What a loss, to ruin the present! The present is a gift (no pun intended) that cannot be enjoyed later. It must be accepted, seized, relished…now.

I do not currently work five days a week at an ideal job where I find overwhelming fulfillment and great purpose. Although I could spend (and have spent) my time agonizing over this lack, I choose instead, now, today, to love where I am and to open my eyes to the beauty around me. There are questions in my mind and changes on the horizon, but I am happy to be here. Now.

3 Responses

  1. Jessica,

    This is a beautiful post, and a great reminder for me as well. 🙂

  2. Great thoughts, Jessica. Living in the present is hard for me, too, sometimes. I like your “the present is a gift that cannot be enjoyed later” statement (as well as the pun). Keep writing! You have a great way with words.

Leave a Reply

