“the perils of hipster christianity”

My brother sent me a link this morning to an article entitled “The Perils of Hipster Christianity.” Its sentiments reminded me of the “Contemporvant” spoof video I posted last week, but since it is an article, it presents a more thoughtful evaluation of Christianity’s attempts to reflect youth culture in the 21st century. It’s worth a read and a think, in my opinion. The author, Brett McCracken, ends on a strong note:

If the evangelical Christian leadership thinks that “cool Christianity” is a sustainable path forward, they are severely mistaken. As a twentysomething, I can say with confidence that when it comes to church, we don’t want cool as much as we want real.

If we are interested in Christianity in any sort of serious way, it is not because it’s easy or trendy or popular. It’s because Jesus himself is appealing, and what he says rings true. It’s because the world we inhabit is utterly phony, ephemeral, narcissistic, image-obsessed and sex-drenched—and we want an alternative. It’s not because we want more of the same.

I absolutely, definitely agree.

One Response

  1. I also agree, especially as I look for a church down here. I don’t want a cool church, I really want a church with real people who have a real love for a real Jesus, and those things don’t usually match up very closely with our culture, which I think is really good.

Leave a Reply

