l’engle on humility, pain, and writing

My profession is writing–stories, novels, fantasy, poetry, thoughts. Writing is not just my job, but a vocation, a total commitment. I started to write when I was five, and as I look back on fifty years of this work, I am forced to accept that my best work has been born from pain; I am forced to see that my own continuing development involves pain. It is pain and weakness and constant failures which keep me from pride and help me to grow. The power of God is to be found in weakness, but it is God’s power (Madeline L’Engle, The Irrational Season).

I love this. L’Engle writes beautifully. The more I read, the more I consider her one of my writing heroes.

Leave a Reply

