the poetry project: acrostics

One of my life goals is to write consistently and creatively. This fall I decided to narrow the goal a little (since narrower goals are easier to accomplish) and choose a writing project for each month. August’s was The Blog Project. It was my unspoken attempt to write a blog post every single day during the month of August. Braving a few late nights, and posting a few brainless entries, I succeeded – much to my comfort. (There is something comforting about achieving a goal; even a small one. It makes me think, “Hey, maybe I can follow through with bigger projects, too.”)

I was out of town during the first few days of September, so I didn’t think much about this month’s writing goal until yesterday. Jokingly, I told someone that I should make September “poetry month.” Later, I told someone else, and they both encouraged me. There is something in me that has always shied away from poetry – from reading it, but even more, from writing it. I am intimidated by the genre and think of myself as too practical to “get” poetry. I’m not a melancholic personality, and do not experience strong emotions and mood swings. All poets fit that description, right? I couldn’t possibly be stereotyping, could I? Nah.

Whether or not I find myself a true poet (I doubt it), this month I am challenging myself to dabble in the art. I’ve decided to highlight several poetic forms and try my hand at writing pieces within their boundaries. It will be a good exercise and, quite possibly, a source of amusement for my readers. I also realize it might drive away any readership I’ve accumulated here at the blog, so I probably will not be posting everything I write for this project. I will continue posting other musings, too. The poetry monster is not taking over my brain or blog. I’m just sharing with all of you – whoever you are – that this is my goal for September. The more people I alert, the more accountability I have for following through.

Without further ado, I present an acrostic.

“Simple Life” by JLB

Solitary

Insulated

Minimalist

Peaceful

Learned

Energy

Lucid

Invigorating

Free

Edifying

One Response

  1. Good for you! Small goals are great for accomplishing big goals. Last year, I made an effort to write at least one poem a month. At times, I felt completely inadequate but I always managed to squeak one out before the month was over! I learned a lot too.
    Love your poem!

Leave a Reply

