the poetry project: pastoral

My first attempt at a pastoral poem. Maybe my only attempt? It was lovely to revisit these memories, though.

If I Could Go

by JLB

If I could go to Wittlingen

And walk along the ridge again

I’d see the valleys down below

And breathe the freshest wind that blows

Across the fields of corn and hay

As summer wanes and dies away

The farmer tends his fields with care

His faithful dog is with him there

They amble by the grove of trees

Changing colors, losing leaves

He lifts his hat as I walk by

I nod and smile and then I sigh

For church-bells start to toll the time

My favorite sound is their sweet chime

Once and twice and thrice they ring

And something deep inside me sings

5 Responses

  1. I love this 🙂

  2. Ah, you’re one of those modern poets who doesn’t puctuate at the end of any of the lines! 🙂

    • Ha! Honestly, I didn’t think much about it except that I wanted continuity. And WordPress wouldn’t let me space between the stanzas, or even between the title and the poem’s beginning, so it doesn’t look like I want it. :p

  3. I love that, too! Great job! I’m enjoying reading your poetry. This looks like a good experiment to try.

Leave a Reply

