knowing

Sometimes I struggle to pray.

“Why do I need to do this? You already know everything. Why do I need to tell you anything? Why do I need to talk?”

Because He wants to know me. He knows about me, but there is something different about knowing me.

It’s like if I’m a huge fan of Brad Pitt. I look at thousands of pictures, I read every article about him that I can get my hands on. I know his birthday, his favorite color, his worst fears. I know all about Brad Pitt.

But I don’t know Brad Pitt. If I saw him on the street, I’d recognize him – but he wouldn’t recognize me. And even if I could talk to him, I wouldn’t know what to say. I wouldn’t know how to interact with him because I have never had a conversation with him. Despite all the knowledge I have about Brad, I have no clue what’s in his mind or his heart.

We need to know God; not just know about God. We need to know each other, and not just know about each other.

There is beauty in knowing. It’s good to know about, but it’s much better to know.

2 Responses

  1. It’s very true. I’ve had so many of these same thoughts myself over the years, and of course, they’re have the effect of making prayer seem totally fruitless in my mind. What’s the point of petitioning the Lord if His will is going to be done regardless? Amazingly enough, He wants us to express the desires of our hearts. He wants us to be in relationship with Him. Also, I’m not convinced that His will can only happen one single way. It’s His joy to say yes to our requests, and I think He can “shuffled things around,” so to speak, as it becomes possible to achieve what He intends as well as what we would wish. Of course, we need to be in relationship with Him in order for this to happen. As you said, He needs to know us. After all, why would a parent say “yes” right away to an estranged child?

  2. Goodness, I hope it’s obvious I meant “…they have the effect…” as opposed to “…they’re have the effect…” I really need to proofread more carefully before hitting “post.” 😛

Leave a Reply

